Praful Patel becomes first Indian in FIFA Council in landmark development for Indian football.

Praful Patel becomes first Indian in FIFA Council in landmark development for Indian football.


Kuala Lumpur: The All India Football Federation (AIFF) president Praful Patel was on Saturday elected as a FIFA Council member, becoming the first Indian to enter the prestigious panel in what turns out to be a landmark development for Indian football. 


            Praful Patel received 38 out of 46 votes in election. The AIFF chief was one of the eight candidates vying for the spot in the election, which was held during the 29th AFC (Asian Football Confederations) Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.


            A total of five candidates, including Praful Patel, were elected in addition to the AFC president, and one female member is also set to be elected for the term 2019-2013.


"I am extremely humbled. I express my gratitude to all the members of the AFC who felt me suitable for the post. The responsibility as a FIFA Council member is huge. I would not only be representing my own country but the entire continent. Thank you all for your confidence for rapid progress of football in Asia," Praful Patel stated.


            Praful Patel was accompanied by AIFF general secretary Kushal Das and senior vice-president Subrata Datta.


"Mr. Patel''s victory is a "landmark for Indian football". Congratulations to Mr. Patel. He fully deserves this honour. His leadership has taken Indian football to greater heights. Asian football will immensely benefit from his presence as a FIFA Council member," said Subrata Datta.


            The AFC Electoral committee and the FIFA Review Committee conducted the eligibility review of the candidates. Kushal Das also expressed his pleasure on the development, "We at AIFF are extremely proud of him. This is a major development for India's football fraternity. Best wishes on his new endeavour."


            Under Praful Patel's leadership, the AIFF has been awarded with the AFC's President Recognition award for grassroots at the AFC Annual Awards in 2014 in Manila, and was given an award for the AFC Best Developing Member Association at the in 2016.


            The successful hosting of the FIFA U-17 World Cup drew praise from all quarters, and India have also won the bid to host the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in 2020. The Indian Club Licensing system has also been dubbed as one of the best in Asia.


            A Al- Mohannadi (Qatar), Khalid Awad A. Althebity (Saudi Arabia), Mariano V. Araneta, Jr. (Philippines), Chung Mong Gyu (Korea Republic), Du Zhaocai (China PR), Mehdi Taj (IR Iran) and Kohzo Tashima (Japan) were the others who contested for the five available spots in the council. Earlier in the day, the congress re-elected Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa by acclamation as AFC president for a second four-year term until 2023.


            Shaikh Salman, whose presidency began in May 2013, was the lone candidate for the position. There were initially three candidates confirmed by the AFC Electoral Committee following the completion of the eligibility checks on March 1. The number was reduced following the withdrawals of Mohamed Khalfan Matar Saeed Al-Romaithi of UAE and Saoud A. Aziz M A Al-Mohannadi of Qatar in support behind Shaikh Salman.

0 Comment

No Comments found.